30 December 2010

Breaking the glass ceiling

Advancement in the corporate ladder of women often times faced a road block compared to their male counterparts. The corporate world may be progressive in many ways yet it needs to catch up with gender favoritism or should I say glass ceiling. Women are almost nowhere to be found in any executive offices even though both men and women are in equal numbers in the labor force but the top management posts is the stronghold of men.

Women, until now, are still struggling to break the glass ceiling in spite of the existing equal employment opportunity law. And many employers didn’t pay much attention to it thereby, limiting the upward advancement of women and this holds true in almost all countries. Women have made great pace but not quite broken through it yet. And if they are able to surpass that hurdle, they still feel like they are outsiders. It is so evident in the statistics and the data shows less than 10 percent of women are holding the top management positions. Although it is now slowly catching up but the disparity in gender gap is still pervasive and the glass ceiling may not be shattered any moment from now, but there are many holes in it than before.

27 December 2010

The Power of Non-Violence...

A wordless Monday and so sharing this story could only benefit one thing. I found this story the power of Non-Violence in one of my blog hopping. Read on...

Dr. Arun Gandhi, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi and founder of the M.K. Gandhi Institute for Non-violence, in his June 9 lecture at the University of Puerto Rico, shared the following story as an example of "non-violence in parenting":

"I was 16 years old and living with my parents at the institute my grandfather had founded 18 miles outside of Durban, South Africa, in the middle of the sugar plantations. We were deep in the country and had no neighbors, so my two sisters and I would always look forward to going to town to visit friends or go to the movies.

One day, my father asked me to drive him to town for an all-day conference, and I jumped at the chance. Since I was going to town, my mother gave me a list of groceries she needed and, since I had all day in town, my father ask me to take care of several pending chores, such as getting the car serviced. When I dropped my father off that morning, he said, 'I will meet you here at 5:00 p.m., and we will go home together.'

After hurriedly completing my chores, I went straight to the nearest movie theater. I got so engrossed in a John Wayne double-feature that I forgot the time. It was 5:30 before I remembered. By the time I ran to the garage and got the car and hurried to where my father was waiting for me, it was almost 6:00.

He anxiously asked me, 'Why were you late?' I was so ashamed of telling him I was watching a John Wayne western movie that I said, 'The car wasn't ready, so I had to wait,' not realizing that he had already called the garage. When he caught me in the lie, he said: 'There's something wrong in the way I brought you up that didn't give you the confidence to tell me the truth. In order to figure out where I went wrong with you, I'm going to walk home 18 miles and think about it.'

So, dressed in his suit and dress shoes, he began to walk home in the dark on mostly unpaved, unlit roads. I couldn't leave him, so for five-and-a-half hours I drove behind him, watching my father go through this agony for a stupid lie that I uttered. I decided then and there that I was never going to lie again.

I often think about that episode and wonder, if he had punished me the way we punish our children, whether I would have learned a lesson at all. I don't think so. I would have suffered the punishment and gone on doing the same thing. But this single non-violent action was so powerful that it is still as if it happened yesterday. That is the power of non-violence."

"Forgiveness is giving up my right to hate you for hurting me.”

26 December 2010

Early Bird...

A new online payment processing service is in the verge of opening any time soon and the same with other new comers there’s always freebies and giveaways to be given. One is if you sign up now as an early bird you will get a bonus of $25 straight into your account. It is free to sign up so there’s no harm in trying, in fact, you’ll get $10 more if you refer someone to join and that is per person you brought to sign up. Yet it does not end right there.

As they prepare to launch this payment processor, they are going to add up to $20 more to your account by simply doing the simplest task you can. Every time you participate in the site’s activity you’ll get a corresponding bonus for that and the more you participate the better is your earning would be. These are just some of what you get if you sign up now and become and early bird user. And you could have a descent amount of earnings already by the time the new online money processor will launch.

So, do you know already what I am talking about? I’m sure it’s not that hard to guess and I know that you’re going to tell me that it is PayBox.me. Sign up now so you can enjoy the benefits of becoming an early bird.

23 December 2010

Surprising sports venue : Half Clay Half Grass

I've been following Fedex and Rafa for I believe more than a decade already but it is also ironic why I have missed this kind of event in their duel of supremacy.

I was smiling when I first saw this one, thinking of two different type of courts that both are master of their own.

Check out the whole article of this "Half Clay and Half Grass" tournament between Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal.

17 December 2010

Holiday festivities

Today is the start of our holiday festivities and one thing for sure, this is not the only one and definitely it will not end today. There are already something in the line for planning. And we all know what's with every festivities. For sure the diet plans (if there's any) won't be followed or perhaps be broken (again?).

So this is just a quick post today before everyone's get crazy and drunk. I'll post ahead of time before the effects of alcohol sets in, in my alcohol hungry brain cells and I might not be able to write anything by that time. Or I might only be writing something about beer, vodka and apple juice.
So let's just see what this holiday festivities will bring later on.

14 December 2010

Advertising with Adgitize

There's so many things in my mind but nothing transpire into words to write down except this gibberish post right now. I wanted to write something about why people give up blogging before they are able to produce their first penny. Many have thought also that it's a quick, fast and easy money scheme out there and before they knew it, they start to get bored and eventually left. Most experts believe that a certain blog needs to be up and running for at least three to six months before you will be able to see results or perhaps just an improvement from where you start. Monetizing your blog/s take some time to roll, you need to juice it up, gain page ranking and build your reputation.

Visitors or traffic is one great important thing that we should understand and mastering them is not that easy but not hard as well. Building backlinks is another thing and having merely a visitor is not enough. Getting them back to your site is another story that is quite very important. Getting expose to the blogosphere is in fact necessary if you need to get as many traffic as you want. Building an online reputation and credibility are as significant as the others I've mentioned and this will generate loyal followers in the end.
Advertising your blog is another thing and recently I found a great blog advertising that will give you the much needed traffic especially if you have just started or if you want to see changes in your Alexa rankings and or perhaps your Page Rank. As for my experience, it brought down my Alexa rank from millions to just above 500 thousand and it's still rolling down in the coming weeks. It also tremendously brought down the Alexa ranking in my other blog and the good thing is, it starts to have a Page Rank already and no longer N/A.

Now, I made something worthwhile already (I think and I suppose). Do you? Join Adgitize now and start seeing the fruit of your blogging labor.

11 December 2010

Crazy but not stupid

Here's a funny story that I've read last night in my random hopping. Could be you are one of them.

A truck driver was doing his usual load delivery at a mental hospital, by parking his vehicle beside an open drain. He discovered a flat tyre when he was about to return from the mental hospital. He jacked up the truck and removed the flat tyre to fix the spare tire. When he was about to fix the spare tire, he accidentally dropped all the 4 bolts in the open drain. As he could not fish the bolts in the open drain, he started to panic as to what should be done?

Just then, a patient happened to walk past him and asked the driver as to why he was looking troubled. The driver thought to himself, since there is nothing much he can do or this mental joker can. Just to keep the bugging away, the truck driver informed the whole episode to the mental patient and gave a helpless look.

The patient just laughed at the truck driver and said “you just cannot even fix such a simple problem? No wonder you are destined to remain a truck driver for life".

The truck driver was astonished to hear such a compliment from a mental guy.

"Here is what you can do" said the mental guy. "Take one bolt from each of the remaining 3 tires / wheels and fix it on to this tyre. Then drive down to the nearest workshop and replace the missing ones. Isn’t it simple my friend". 

The truck driver was so impressed with this quick fix answer and asked the patient "how come you are so smart and intelligent and you are here at the mental hospital?"

The patient replied, "Hello friend! I stay here because I am crazy but not stupid."

No wonder, there are some people, who behave like the Truck Driver, thinking that others are just stupid. So, guys, though you all are learned and wise, but, just watch out, there could be some CRAZY guys in our professional / personal lives, who could give us lot of quick fixes and brush our wisdom.

The moral of the story: Just do not conclude that you know everything and do not judge people by mere looks / attire stature or academic background.

09 December 2010

Adgitize first payment

It's been awhile sine I joined and started with Adgitize but it was just recently that I started advertising with them and it's not a disappointing first month. I have shown below my Adgitize first payment for the month of November and I don't have any plans of not to continue advertising in the site. Check out below for the proof of payment that I have received from Adgitize.
If you want to join Adgitize and further monetize your blog then why not sign up now. I paid $14 for my 1 month ads and I not only get what I have invested but I have something extra as well.  Sign up here if you want to join and you must join now and see the results of what you have invested. Or you can click on the above banner. Not only that you'll get what you have invested but the greatest thing is you'll going to increase the traffic in your blog. And you know what traffic means in a blog. It also has the potential to increase your Page Rank and your Alexa ranking. 

Take a look again of my Adgitize first payment so you won't have any doubt.

07 December 2010

Feeling the Holiday season

We just started decorating the house for the holiday season. Actually, it was late already but at least we already have some holiday decors. We finished this afternoon our 210 cm (6.8 feet) Christmas tree including the lights. My wife told me that it's way better than the one displayed in the mall and if it's the one there, they should sell much more items then. I have taken the picture already but I don't have much time today and I need to rest early for an early work in the morning.

So, just get back here and I'll update this with how tall is our Christmas tree. This will only be a short post for now.

06 December 2010

Tide of Change

The pace of climate change is inevitable, the industrial pollutions and the by products of daily living triggers temperature to get warm faster than most scientist had expected. That is greatly felt in the Arctic region. And one of the climate scientists is reintroducing wild horses, hairy beasts and more grass eating animals into the vast icy land of Siberia in the hope of reducing greenhouse gases to slow the pace of global warming. He is trying to recreate the ice age where we can only be seen during our great grandmother’s time.

He wants to make the vast icy land that supports only a shady larch tree and shrubs into an ecosystem of herbivores and sumptuous grasslands. The scientist believes in the theory that filling it with these animals can somehow slow down the global warming. He further explains that the moment the herbivores settled into millions of species, “it will keep wild grass short and healthy, sending up fresh shoots and the manure will provide nourishment. During winter, the animals trample and flatten the snow that would insulate the ground from the cold air and that helps prevent the frozen ground from melting and releasing powerful greenhouse gases.”

The goal is to see whether the population of grazing animals will regenerate grasslands which would slow or halt the accelerating pace of permafrost meltdown so we won’t be lamenting the unnatural warming of the earth. But the journey is still way far from reality yet for now, results are encouraging, he says. This remote Arctic research posts now has 70 animals in the park but he will be needing thousands of them to eventually see the difference.

02 December 2010

2022 World Cup Announcement

Earlier today, it sets back in my mind about a significant event that will happen and I’m sure a lot are following about this one, most especially to the football aficionados. And two or three countries will be celebrating and I am not just talking of celebration but lavish celebration is what I meant. Today is the 2018 and 2022 World Cup announcement for the winners of the hosting rights and what caught my attention is one of the bidding nations for 2022 is a tiny nation in the Arabian Peninsula which is Qatar. I would say that this is another David and Goliath bout were the former always win in the fight. Qatar has slain the likes of Uncle Sam, the land down under, the samurais and the taekwondo masters. I think Qatar World Cup bid deserves to get the rights to hold the most prestigious and the biggest single sport event. History was made as World Cup heads to the Middle East.

I always make a comparison of Qatar map as the appendix of human body. If you look at it, it just protrudes from Saudi Arabia just like our appendix. Despite being a tiny nation with, I believe, less than 1.5 million population, the people itself has big hearts for the love of football. I think it’s time for Qatar to shine after they lost in their bid for the 2016 Olympic Games. Qatar will be building state of the art stadiums and that is air-conditioned stadiums considering that the World Cup games will be held on June and July which will be the peak of summer. Temperatures may soar to 110 – 115 degrees F but that doesn't deter Qatar to make an ambitious plan for the benefit of the whole state, which I believe they utterly deserve to host the 2022 World Cup

01 December 2010

Sick Day

Today is officially a sick day but no sick leave, have to go to work later tonight. Down with cough and colds is not good especially the annoying post nasal drip is killing me. I felt terrible last night and seems my body is hot , I felt feverish but I don't get any fever. My temperature is just 99.1 yet it seems that the air that I exhale is hot and warm. I'm on water therapy only, not taking any meds for now but so hated whe you kept on going back to the latrine.

Ok, off to bed now... better have an early rest for the blogging tomorrow and hope to catch up with pending assignments.,