07 January 2013

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2012

I almost forgot to watch the annual FIFA Ballon d’Or Ceremony but luckily my son tried to touch the touchpad of our laptop and that’s where it sinks back into my mind that today is the FIFA World Player Gala in Zurich. Messi leads the three nominees for the coveted World Player of the Year award. Although I want it to go to CRon but with the way Messi broke records after records then it’s no surprise if he takes it home again. 
And if he does, then he will break another record and an unprecedented four successive years. Right now, he is one of the only three players (Ronaldo-Brazil and Zidane) who won the annual FIFA Ballon d’Or award three times but neither of the two won it in successive years. Only Messi have done such feat since 2009. Anyhow, I was just giving you of a little background and the winner is?

Lionel Messi wins FIFA Ballon d’Or 2012 for the fourth time and in successive years. Ronaldo on the other hand, came second in the voting. What made the ceremony very interesting is when the FIFPro World XI was announced. La Liga swept all the positions and it is also almost all Real Madrid and Barca who occupies it and only Falcao from a different team who made the XI.

Image from FCBarcelona.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment